top of page

Our History


The Iowa Legislature approved Chapter 28J in 2005, which enabled port authorities in Iowa.


Subsequently, Lee County, the City of Fort Madison, and the City of Keokuk each approved resolutions creating the Southeast Iowa Regional Economic and Port Authority (SIREPA) in 2006.  The territory comprising the port authority is contained within those jurisdictions.


SIREPA was the first and remains the only port authority in the State of Iowa.


SIREPA is governed by bylaws adopted on May 27, 2006.

bottom of page